• Grant Access
  • Subscribe
  • Track Account
  • Private Message
Generic Icon

dianyla's Journal

This journal contains content only suitable for those over the age of 18.

Seed Account

Created on 2009-04-25 05:32:17 (#122225), never updated

0 comments received, 4 comments posted

0 Journal Entries, 0 Tags, 0 Memories, 0 Icons

View extended profile

Birthdate:Nov 27
Location:Portland, Oregon, United States of America
Boring biography stuff:
I was born and raised in Southern California, brought up in the Mormon religion. I spent a year abroad in Spain after high school as an exchange student, which was a transformative experience in every way. I attended McGill University in Montreal for a year, until family, money, and mental health issues intervened.

I landed in Portland somewhat accidentally at the age of 18 and have been here ever since. I spent a year or so working a variety of odd jobs, then got my foot in the door working tech support at an ISP. I've been working in IT ever since, eventually specializing in building and maintaining the monitoring environment for a large healthcare system.

And then, after much soul-searching, I decided to turn the snowglobe upside down and resume the educational track that I originally started so long ago. For the last two years, I've been working and schooling full time. I plan to apply to med school in 2009 and see where that takes me. If I get in, I quit my job and plunge in fully. If not, I guess I'll keep my day job and regroup.

Less boring stuff:
On a personal level, thus far I have spent my adulthood:
-Learning how to take responsibility for myself, and only myself
-Constructing a life for myself that I actually want to Live in
-Recovering from mormonism and letting my own spirituality evolve
-Learning where my sources of personal happiness are and working actively to cultivate these
-Filtering out what kind of energy I do and don't want in my life
-Learning where my personal boundaries are and how to Use Words to ensure that these are being respected
-Identifying the limits of my abilities, and hitting those limits occasionally without burning myself out or injuring myself
-Learning how to play, and travel, and use up most of my vacation time every year
-Exploring different kinds of relationships with different kinds of people
-Accepting myself, just the the way I am

Note: The above listed items are all works in progress. I claim no mastery of any of these important lessons.

I'm currently in a relationship with [info]trolleypup in San Francisco.
People [View Entries]
Communities [View entries]
Feeds [View Entries]
To link to this user, copy this code:
On Dreamwidth: